How bad do you have to be to be sued by the church?

Cardinal Dolan of NY along with about 40 other catholic Dioceses and organizations has filed suit in federal court against the  Obama administration. They sued because of the administrations violation of their 1st amendment right to freedom of religion. (Read the article here.) They are pissed that regulation that Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius announced last August and finalized in January that requires virtually all health-care plans in the United States to cover sterilizations and all Food and Drug Administration-approved contraceptives, including those that can cause abortions.  I applaud them for standing up for their beliefs and taking Obama and his administration to task for violating the constitution that he took an oath to uphold.

I knew it was going to be a big mess when the announcement came that all employer sponsored health care be required to cover contraceptives. How can the government require employers like catholic churches and schools, who are against all contraception and abortions, cover such things? I am a catholic and yes contraceptives and abortion are highly frowned upon, but I believe it is a woman’s choice whether or not to have an abortion, I will never demand of her to get one or not. I do believe if you are sexually active and do not have the means to support a child use some kind of contraceptive device. If you do use contraception pay for it yourself, if you can’t afford it don’t have sex, it’s that simple.

If you are not responsible enough to practice safe sex, especially if you can’t afford a child, don’t have sex. I support my children I shouldn’t have to support yours.

Leave a comment