Memorial Day

This weekend is a long weekend for a lot of people, they have either a 3 or 4 day weekend. This weekend symbolizes the start of summer, people are planning family get togethers, barbeques, and going to the beach. But this not just any ordinary long weekend. This Monday is a special day to me it is Memorial Day.

Memorial day is a day of remembrance. It is a day to remember those who have made the ultimate sacrifice for us. Especially now, in our time of war we need to remember those who have sacrificed so much so we can be free. And not only those who have died, but also their families, because their families have sacrificed a husband, mother, brother, sister, father, mother, son, daughter, a loved one who will not be there with them to celebrate this weekend.

I’m not telling you to not have fun, because enjoying your freedoms, and being with your family and friends is why they sacrificed. I have gone to war, and I have lost good friends, people I call my brother, and I know they would be with their families doing the same thing this weekend. Every person that goes to war knows they might not come home, but that’s why we do it, for those at home, and we wouldn’t have it any other way. I will be having a barbeque this weekend, but I will be remembering my fallen brothers and their families. So enjoy your weekend, eat, drink and be merry, but please remember the reason for this holiday. If you know someone in the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, or Coast Guard thank them for their service.

To read about all the Service Members killed in Action visit the following links:

Global War on Terror

The Vietnam War

The Korean War

World War II Army and Air Force

World War II Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard

If you have a family member served in the Military and want to find out more about them you can search the US Archives at www.archives.gov/veterans/

We walked among the crosses
Where our fallen soldiers lay.
And listened to the bugle
As taps began to play.

The Chaplin led a prayer
We stood with heads bowed low.
And I thought of fallen comrades
I had known so long ago.

They came from every city
Across this fertile land.
That we might live in freedom.
They lie here ‘neath the sand.

I felt a little guilty
My sacrifice was small.
I only lost a little time
But these men lost their all.

Now the services are over
For this Memorial Day.
To the names upon these crosses
I just want to say,

Thanks for what you’ve given
No one could ask for more.
May you rest with God in heaven
From now through evermore.

Leave a Reply

