Politicians should learn a lesson from a Soldier

I joined the Army to defend my country. I love my country and my fellow citizens so much that I have gone to combat and waged war with the enemies of my country to protect and defend it. I took the following oath:

“I, Gerard Peter Hoffman, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.”

As a matter of fact I took that oath six times. As you can see my oath says nothing about money, religious beliefs, race, creed, anything like that. I don’t care about that. I care about my country. I care so much I have put my life on the line through four combat deployments, to ensure the freedom my country enjoys.

Unlike politicians I don’t care if you’re black, white, brown, green, or Mexican, I do however care that you are in this country legally. I don’t care if you’re straight, gay, bisexual, trisexual, homosexual, or what ever, as long as your personal life does not interfere with me doing my job or you doing your job, as long as you’re happy it’s all good. Isn’t that a basic tenet of the Constitution, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness? As long as what makes you happy does not infringe on my rights, and is not illegal go for it. I really do not understand why people get pissed about homosexuals being allowed to marry. Yes I am a Christian, and yes I hold to the basic faith of Christianity, the ten commandments. I know there are places in the bible which I know I violate, especially:

Leviticus 19:28- Ye shall not make any cuttings in your flesh for the dead, nor print any marks upon you: I am the LORD.

I have tattoos, but then again I am not a religious fanatic, I know nothing now is the same as it was in biblical times, and things change. Just look at our own history, slavery, Jim Crowe, women’s suffrage, the one thing that does not change is the ten commandments.

Yes this country’s history is filled with mistakes, and we have corrected them. But one thing that has remained constant is the drive to make this country better. And I have seen politicians, especially Obama, Pelosi, Reid, Maxine Waters, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Michael Bloomberg, and so many more using their political platform for their own profits.

Listen you all got elected to represent and protect the people of this country, not control them. Just because you have been elected to an office it does not mean you can tell me what I can drink, what I can eat, what consumer product I have to purchase, and yes insurance is a consumer product Obama, and taxing someone for not wanting to buy something is pure communism.

As a Soldier I care only about my fellow Americans. I do not want to control their life, I want them to live their own life. I want everyone to get what ever they want, if they are driven and work hard they can get rich, if they are lazy and do nothing they get poor. I work for my paycheck, I do not need to give what I earn to someone who is too lazy to get their ass out of their house and work. I have to take a drug test to work, you have to take a drug test to get government assistance. Government assistance is just that, assistance until you get a job, which you have to actively look for or you lose the assistance.

If you are a woman and all you want to do is stay home and have kids, you damn well better be able to take care of them. I do not advocate government directed abortion or mandatory sterilization, but if you have a child and can not take care of that child, the government should take that child and place that child in a situation where that child can be cared for. The woman can live in poverty all she wants, but her children will not be forced to live that life. And that goes for men too, if you have kids and you can’t support them, not a problem, you will go to jail. Do not have kids unless you intend to take care of them.

Speaking of taking care of people, illegal aliens should be prosecuted. If you want to come to this country do it legally. I have brothers in arms who wanted so bad to be American citizens they joined the Military to gain citizenship. I have also lost a few brothers who never got to get their citizenship, they gave up their lives for freedoms they never had, for freedoms you and now thanks to Obama illegal aliens enjoy. And they did this because they believed in our country, not like these illegal aliens who only believe in the free healthcare, free housing, free education, and tax-free pay. What happened to ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country? Oh yeah Democrats happened.

The founding fathers didn’t have political parties, they had common sense. They never took a paycheck for elected office, it was a privilege not a career. They did what was good for the country.

They never worried about what any other country thought, they didn’t sell the rights to American land to foreign companies. The founding fathers would never have British Petroleum drilling for oil in our territorial waters, they would never allow a chance to put thousands of Americans to work to pass by nixing a project like the Keystone Pipeline. We would have drilling for our own oil the minute reserves were found, and we would not be paying Islamic militant extremist governments, or communist governments for their oil and gas, we would be making our own.

Speaking of Islamic extremists, they would have no say in this country, this is not a terrorist state. Sharia law would not even be thought of here. CAIR, the council on American Islamic Relations would not exist. The only reason it is around is to bring Islamic extremism to the US and that is not going to happen. Sharia law degrades women, it advocates the abuse and murder of women, which I can in no way even pretend to think is right. Along with CAIR, the KKK, the New Black Panther Party, the Aryan Brotherhood, the Westboro Baptist Church and any other group that professes hate for a different group would be outlawed, and their members would be arrested. Everyone has prejudices, there is no way around that, but to act on them is not acceptable. There is no room in this country for hate.

We should be a country of accomplishments not entitlements. I do not claim a political party, I claim common sense.

Leave a Reply

